Contribute and become part of the metasfresh open source community!


Welcome to the metasfresh community!

There’s more to the development of an open source ERP software than just programming. It involves many different roles with different priorities. Would you like to take part in the development of metasfresh ERP? Would you like to contribute to turning metasfresh ERP into the largest and most active open source ERP software project in the world? Awesome! Welcome on board. We would like to give you a brief overview of how you can take part in the development of metasfresh ERP.

Database experts

Here at metasfresh we are currently working with the DBMS PostgreSQL. If you have some experience with PostgreSQL administration or if you would just like to practice and expand your SQL skills, we want to hear from you.

Frontend developers

metasfresh currently has a Swing Java client. At this point we are working on separating the frontend and backend in order to allow for flexible development of graphical interfaces.

UX – user experience experts

Our ERP software represents and displays various complex processes within a company. Designing processes and user interactions to make them as intuitive as possible shall help the user to remain largely unaffected by the processes’ complexity. If you are interested in contributing, please feel free to join us.

Documentation writers and editors

metasfresh ERP involves numerous technical and functional processes. Providing a correct and thorough description of these processes helps users to easily get started with the software.

Users

Are you already using metasfresh in your company and would like to provide valuable information in order to make metasfresh even better? We are looking forward to your input. Let us know about your ideas and discuss their implementation with other community members.

Specialists

Would you like to contribute your expert knowledge regarding the purchasing, sales, controlling, production, distribution / logistics or other processes in SMEs in order to improve metasfresh ERP? Feel free to join us!

Software testers

Testing functional and technical requirements in metasfresh ERP is indispensable. We have already implemented quality control procedures for our releases. If you enjoy spotting and documenting possible errors or if you would just like to become acquainted with metasfresh step by step, you’re a perfect match for our community.

Backend developers

Functional and technical aspects are implemented in the backend. They represent the heart of metasfresh ERP. If you love challenges, you will soon feel comfortable in this environment.

GUI designers

With metasfresh we would like to prove that open source ERP software does not only set functional standards and that it can compete with proprietary ERP solutions even when it comes to the design of the graphical user interface. There’s a big challenge waiting for you.

Translators

metasfresh ERP is being used in various countries with different languages. Most progress has been made on the German localization process. We look forward to your dedicated support and collaboration as a translator for further languages.

Financial accounting

A financial accounting feature is integrated in metasfresh. Please feel free to join our community if you are experienced in financial accounting matters or in implementing charts of accounts in different countries.

 
 

GitHub

The social coding platform GitHub offers all the tools necessary for actively participating in the development of metasfresh: Bugs, new challenges or improvements regarding the software can be specified, help texts and technical documentation can be created and updated. It’s an ideal service for contributors to exchange information and use a range of functions to comment on the work of others or to give feedback. Today, GitHub with its more than 15 million developers and 38 million projects is considered the de-facto standard for the collaborative development of open source software projects.

Source code:
metasfresh ERP on GitHub
metasfresh documentation on GitHub
metasfresh WebUI on GitHub
metasfresh procurement WebUI on GitHub

Documentation

We attach great importance to the documentation for all those involved in the development of metasfresh ERP: users, admins, developers and testers. The relevant contents are created by the community; anyone can join in.

Start page
The focal point for all those involved in the project is the following page: docs.metasfresh.org.

Java docs for developers
The Java docs for the complete metasfresh source code are at your disposal. Would you like to look up details of classes and methods relating to the source code? As a developer, you will find here what you’re looking for:

metasfresh Java docs
metasfresh ESB Java docs

Forum

Would you like to actively exchange information with other contributors in the metasfresh community or do you need help regarding a metasfresh issue? Join us in the Forum and engage with experts in our community.
metasfresh Forum

Gitter chat

Additionally to the Forum we have opened a Gitter chat to allow developers and documentation writers to quickly exchange their knowledge about development and documentation questions. Come in and participate.
metasfresh chat on Gitter
metasfresh documentation chat on Gitter

Issue trackers

We are committed to constantly improving metasfresh ERP and adding new, efficient features. If a bug is found in the software, we are particularly interested in learning about it and finding solutions / bug fixes as fast as possible. We would very much appreciate your feedback regarding your ideas on how to improve or expand our software. Also, please let us know if you have found a bug or error. You can get in touch using the following issue trackers:
metasfresh issue tracker
metasfresh documentation issue tracker

OpenHUB

Do you want to see how fast metasfresh evolves compared to other Open Source ERP Systems? Then come and checkout the stats at OpenHUB and find out how metasfresh Project is doing.
metasfresh OpenHUB

Contribute und werde Teil der metasfresh Open Source Community!


Willkommen bei der metasfresh Community!

Die Entwicklung einer Open Source ERP Software ist nicht nur etwas für Programmierer. Es gibt viele verschiedene Rollen mit unterschiedlichen Schwerpunkten, die an der Entwicklung beteiligt sind. Möchtest du dich an der Entwicklung von metasfresh ERP beteiligen? Möchtest du dabei mitwirken, metasfreh ERP zum größten und aktivsten Open Source ERP Software-Projekt der Welt zu machen? Großartig! Du bist herzlich willkommen. Wir möchten dir an dieser Stelle einen schnellen Überblick geben, wie du dich an der Entwicklung von metasfresh beteiligen kannst.

Datenbank-Experten

Wir arbeiten bei metasfresh aktuell mit dem DBMS PostgreSQL. Wenn du bereits Erfahrungen in der Administration von PostgreSQL hast oder auch nur deine SQL Kenntnisse anwenden und vertiefen möchtest, bist du bei uns richtig.

Frontend-Entwickler

Aktuell ist metasfresh mit einem Swing Java Client ausgestattet. Momentan wird an einer Trennung zwischen Frontend und Backend gearbeitet, um eine flexible Entwicklung von grafischen Oberflächen zu ermöglichen.

UX – User Experience Experten

Unsere ERP-Software bildet viele verschiedene, komplexe Abläufe im Unternehmen ab. Der Benutzer soll von der Komplexität der Abläufe weitestgehend verschont werden, indem Abläufe und Benutzerinteraktionen so intuitiv wie möglich gestaltet werden. Wenn du Lust hast daran mitzuwirken, bist du sehr gerne eingeladen mitzumachen.

Dokumentierer

Es stecken sehr viele technische und funktionale Abläufe in metasfresh ERP. Um den Einstieg in die Software so einfach wie möglich zu machen, möchten wir die Abläufe so gut und vollständig wie möglich beschreiben.

Anwender

Du verwendest bereits metasfresh in deinem Unternehmen und möchtest wertvolle Informationen liefern, um metasfresh noch besser zu machen. Sehr gerne. Lass uns wissen, welche Vorschläge du hast und diskutiere mit anderen Community-Mitgliedern über die Umsetzung.

Fachkräfte

Hast du Erfahrungen in den Abläufen von mittelständischen Unternehmen in den Bereichen Einkauf, Verkauf, Controlling, Produktion, Distribution/ Logistik oder anderen Bereichen und möchtest du dich an der Weiterentwicklung von metasfresh ERP beteiligen? Sehr gerne und herzlich willkommen.

Tester

Das Testen von funktionalen und technischen Anforderungen in metasfresh ERP ist sehr wichtig. Wir haben bereits Abläufe etabliert, um die Qualität zu einem Release sicherzustellen. Du passt perfekt in unsere Community, wenn du Spaß daran hast, eventuelle Fehler zu finden und zu dokumentieren oder einfach Schritt für Schritt metasfresh kennen lernen möchtest.

Backend-Entwickler

Im Backend-Bereich werden fachliche und technische Umsetzungen realisiert. Sie bilden den Kern von metasfresh ERP. Wenn du die Herausforderung liebst, dann wirst du dich in diesem Umfeld schnell wohl fühlen.

GUI-Designer

Wir möchten mit metasfresh zeigen, dass eine Open Source ERP Software nicht nur funktional Maßstäbe setzen kann, sondern dass sie sich auch in der Gestaltung der grafischen Benutzeroberfläche nicht vor proprietären ERP-Lösungen zu verstecken braucht. Hier wartet eine große Herausforderung auf dich.

Übersetzer

metasfresh ERP wird bereits in verschiedenen Ländern mit unterschiedlichen Sprachen eingesetzt. Die deutsche Lokalisierung ist am weitesten fortgeschritten. Andere Sprachen warten auf tatkräftige Unterstützung. Du bist herzlich willkommen, an der Übersetzung in andere Sprachen mitzuwirken.

Finanzbuchhaltung

In metasfresh ist die Finanzbuchhaltung integriert. Bist du versiert in Fragen zur Finanzbuchhaltung oder hast Informationen zur Implementierung von Kontenrahmen in unterschiedlichen Ländern, dann freuen wir uns sehr, dich in unserer Community begrüßen zu können.

 
 

GitHub

Die Social-Coding-Platform GitHub bietet alle Werkzeuge, um sich aktiv an der Entwicklung von metasfresh beteiligen zu können. Man kann dort Fehler, Neuanforderungen und Verbesserungen an der Software beschreiben, aber auch Hilfetexte oder Dokumentationen erstellen und aktualisieren. Contributoren können sich dort optimal miteinander austauschen und mit Hilfe verschiedener Funktionalitäten die Arbeiten von anderen kommentieren und Feedback geben.
Mittlerweile gilt GitHub mit mehr als 15 Mio. Entwicklern und 38 Mio. Projekten als de-facto-Standard für die gemeinschaftliche Entwicklung von Open Source Software-Projekten.

Source Code:
metasfresh ERP auf GitHub
metasfresh Dokumentation auf GitHub
metasfresh WebUI auf GitHub
metasfresh Beschaffung WebUI auf GitHub

Dokumentation

Wir legen bei der Entwicklung von metasfresh ERP sehr großen Wert auf die Dokumentation für alle beteiligten Zielgruppen:
Benutzer, Admins, Entwickler und Tester.
Dabei werden die Inhalte von der Community erstellt und jeder kann mitmachen!

Startseite
Die zentrale Anlaufstelle für alle Zielgruppen ist die Seite docs.metasfresh.org.

Java Docs für Entwickler
Die Java Docs zum kompletten metasfresh Source Code stehen dir zur Verfügung. Möchtest du dich über Klassen und Methoden zum Source Code informieren, wirst du als Entwickler hier schnell fündig.

metasfresh Java Docs
metasfresh ESB Java Docs

Forum

Möchtest du dich aktiv mit anderen Contributoren in der metasfresh Community austauschen oder brauchst du Hilfe zu Themen rund um metasfresh? Komm in unser Forum und unterhalte dich mit anwesenden Experten aus unserer Community.
metasfresh Forum

Gitter-Chat

Zusätzlich zum Forum haben wir für alle Entwickler und Dokumentierer ein Gitter Chat eingerichtet. Hier besteht die Möglichkeit sich schnell zu Themen rund um metasfresh Entwicklung und Dokumentation auszutauschen. Komm rein und stelle dort deine Fragen.
metasfresh Chat bei Gitter
metasfresh Dokumentation Chat bei Gitter

Issue-Tracker

Wir haben den Anspruch metasfresh ERP ständig zu verbessern und um neue und leistungsfähige Funktionen zu erweitern. Sollten Fehler in der Software gefunden werden, so sind wir sehr interessiert daran, diese so schnell wie möglich kennenzulernen und Lösungen bzw. Bugfixes dafür bereitstellen zu können.
Hast du eine tolle Idee, wie wir unsere Software verbessern oder erweitern können oder hast du einen Fehler in der Software entdeckt, so würden wir uns sehr über dein Feedback dazu freuen. Dafür stehen dir die folgenden Issue-Tracker zur Verfügung:
metasfresh Issue-Tracker
metasfresh Dokumentation Issue-Tracker

OpenHUB

Möchtest Du sehen wie sich metasfresh im Vergleich zu anderen Open Source ERP Projekten entwickelt? Dann schaue in OpenHUB vorbei und informiere Dich über die Aktivitäten in unserem Projekt.
metasfresh OpenHUB